Task: Film an interview

Planning
Location
– Creative Process Digital

Questions for interviewee and statements we want them to make (which will be open to interpretation)
– Name, workplace, what your workplace does and what you do there
– What the apprenticeship allows you to do
– Why apprenticeships are good
– What you enjoy about the apprenticeship

Main shots (of interviewee)
– Mid shot (top half of the body)
– Interviewee in right or left hand side of frame looking out of frame
– Interviewee looking at interviewer

Cutaway shots
– Establishing shot of Creative Process (inside and outside)
– Close up of working on laptop
– Wide shot of Creative Process tutor (Shane Speed) giving a lesson
– Peers working

Lighting
– Natural light
– Reflector

Sound
– Ambient sound
– Background music

Equipment
– Camera
– Tripod
– External microphone/audio recorder
– Headphone (to listen to audio)
– Adobe Premiere Pro

Editing
– Shot and sound bridges (cutting between main shot of interviewee and cutaway shots)
– Captions

Editing (in Adobe Premiere Pro)

Importing video and audio
File > Import > selected the clips to import and clicked Import

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I then dragged a clip from the Project bin to the Timeline.

Screen Shot 2017-08-22 at 10.45.45

However, I do not want the audio attached to the video clip, I want the audio we recorded on an external microphone, so I right-clicked on the clip and unlinked the video/audio.

Screen Shot 2017-08-22 at 10.49.33

I then deleted this audio clip and dragged the externally recorded audio into the Timeline.

Screen Shot 2017-08-22 at 10.55.33

Cutting
As you can see, the duration of the audio clip is a lot longer than the video, so I need to cut it. To do this I can either click on the edge of the audio clip and drag, or I can select the Razor tool (in the sidebar next to the Timeline), cut the clip and delete the unwanted audio.

Dragging

Screen Shot 2017-08-22 at 10.57.30

Razor tool

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To synchronise the video and audio I just need to watch and listen out for the clapping sound we had used during recording in order to be able to synchronise. I then linked the audio and video clip back together.

To cut into a cutaway shot, I dragged the shot into the Timeline, unlinked the audio (as it’s not needed, cut a chunk of the main shot out, and inserted the cutaway.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Adjusting Audio
The audio is a bit noisy so to reduce this I went to the Project bin and clicked on Editing > Audio Effects and applied a DeHummer, DeEsser and Adaptive Noise Reduction.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Adding captions
I created captions in Photoshop to insert into my Premiere project.

EmilyJacob

To import the caption I went to Graphics > New Layer > From file…

Screen Shot 2017-08-22 at 12.24.51

The caption then appeared in the Timeline and in the Program window I placed the caption where I wanted it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the Effect Controls panel under Motions I used keyframes to adjust the position of the caption at various points in the video, making the caption slide into the frame and back out again.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Fading out
To fade out to black at the end of the video, I went to the Effects panel in the Project bin > Video Transition > Dissolve and dragged Dip to Black onto the video clip in the Timeline.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Saving a project
To save the project I went to File > Save As and saved the file in my preferred destination.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Exporting
File > Export

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Final video

